It was in 1919 that four Italian immigrants brought their knowledge of the Old World tradition in marble and granite work to begin a company that would make its mark in transforming the architectural landscape of Windsor and Essex County.
These four immigrants with their experience and knowledge in the construction industry began Colautti Brothers Marble and Tile in Windsor. In 1923, a fifth partner, Baldo Camilotto, a terrazzo craftsman joined the company and became the terrazzo manager of the company. Within a period of 5 years, the company expanded its horizons and began working with ceramic tile and terrazzo.
In 1943, Colautti Brothers moved from its original location on Langlois Street to 2490 McDougall Street. Commercial and residential construction continued to boom. In 1964, Colautti Brothers introduced carpeting into their inventory with hardwood, vinyl flooring, epoxy, marble and granite.
In 1973, Colautti Brothers was purchased by Bruno Nicodemo who had joined the company two decades earlier as a supervisor and estimator. The business continued to expand and moved to its present location at 2779 Howard Avenue in 1980.
Colautti Brothers hasn’t changed much in the way it does business since it began, as we still have original family founding members actively working for the company three generations later. With this our goal as always is to continue to offer customers the best in flooring, wall and countertop options along with offering an exceptional quality of workmanship and customer service.